Dozens of U.S. Congress members announce new sanctions bill targeting Turkey

U.S. Congressman Dan Crenshaw, together with some 30 Republican colleagues, announced a draft bill that would see tough sanctions imposed on Turkey in response to Ankara’s military offensive into northeast Syria.

Crenshaw's move follows similar efforts led by U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen and Lindsey Graham, proposing extensive measures against Turkey in response to Syria operation, including sanctions on assets of Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan and top cabinet ministers and CAATSA sanctions.

"These sanctions are a direct result of the Administration’s grave mistake of moving American forces out of Northern Syria,” Crenshaw said.

“President Erdogan and his regime must face serious consequences for mercilessly attacking our Kurdish allies in northern Syria, who incurred thousands of casualties in the fight against ISIS and helped us protect the homeland,” said the House Republican Conference Chair Liz Cheney, who is one the co-creators of the draft bill.

The White House, in a statement issued late Sunday, said Turkey would "soon be moving forward" with its "long-planned operation" in northern Syria and that the United States wouldn't be involved. The statement followed a call earlier on Sunday between Erdoğan and U.S. President Donald Trump.

Turkey has launched a military operation, dubbed "Operation Peace Spring", on Wednesday. Since then, U.S. Senators threatens Turkey with possible sanctions if the country went ahead with the attack.

And, Trump on Friday has given the U.S. Treasury Department extensive authority to hit Turkey with sanctions, Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin said in a press briefing.

Following U.S. president's move, Turkish Foreign Ministry said Ankara would respond within the framework of full reciprocity.

"No one should doubt that Turkey will respond tit-for-tat to possible U.S. sanctions within framework of full reciprocity," the foreign ministry statement said.

According to the press release by Congressman Crenshaw;

Original co-sponsors of this legislation will include Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy (CA-23), Republican Whip Steve Scalise (LA-01), HASC Ranking Member Mac Thornberry (TX-13), and Representatives Jodey Arrington (TX-19), Don Bacon (NE-02), Jim Banks (IN-03), Jack Bergman (MI-01), Rick Crawford (AR-01), Mike Gallagher (WI-08), French Hill (AR-02), Will Hurd (TX-23), Richard Hudson (NC-08), Mike Johnson (LA-04), Adam Kinzinger (IL-16), Paul Mitchell (MI-10), John Ratcliffe (TX-04), Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14), Martha Roby (AL-02), Mike Rogers (AL-03), Denver Riggleman (VA-05), Elise Stefanik (NY-21), Mike Turner (OH-10), Mark Walker (NC-06), Michael Waltz (FL-06), Brad Wenstrup (OH-02), Joe Wilson (SC-02) and Steve Womack (AR-03).